Almost three years later, updates!

Sorry I don’t blog much.

It took six months post surgery but I am TOTALLY PAIN FREE.  Unbelievably amazing.

It is probably just in this third year, and mostly I’ve only really noticed say the last 4-5 months, that I am almost NEVER bloated anymore.  The surgeon said it would take a very long time and she’s not kidding.  It was so frustrating to have a big ol’ belly for at least two years…but finally, I am truly enjoying the flat stomach.

My scar is still dark.  I’ll try to post a photo soon.  I also scar dark and it takes many years to lighten (at least that was the case with surface mole removals I had done.)  I also dislike my belly button because it has the surgical marks, like dots, where the belly button was probably sewn together.  However, I am not upset more than a slight “eh!” feeling.  I’m lucky I have one at all since it was so severely herniated and the surgeon had to fight hard to get it to cooperate at all in the surgery to make me a new one (that, by the way, is no longer centered, but naturally is to the right of my center.  Sorta balances me being slightly left politically I think. 😉  )

I’m in awe how many people read and find this blog, but yay!

GOOD LUCK to anyone considering it!

This much I knew then, and still know:

If you’re not absolutely, positively hating your stomach, and if nobody really gets why you’re doing it, DO NOT DO IT.  The photos I saw on message boards from thin chics who really didn’t need the surgery resulted in many seriously disappointed women.  They often look worse after the surgery due to bloating, the scar line, and sometimes lack of shaping because it was just a little nip.

2 comments

  1. This blog is a wonderful example of a realistic success story and what results to expect after the normal healing process. You offer very good advice about women NOT having the surgery if they only have minor issues and feel that they can live with them. The patients who enjoy the best results are those who need to make a dramatic change to the skin or muscles of the abdomen following pregnancy or weight loss.

    Thanks again for the great blog!

    Dr. Theodore Diktaban

Leave a comment