A year and a half later

Wow, this is a  very neglected blog, my apologies!  I think you get really absorbed in the tummy tuck world, deal with HUGE recovery, then life goes back to being busy!

I’m now like 18 months out and still have a wicked dark scar line (but I scar easily.)  The scar line also defines where I swell above or below.  I confirmed with the dr that this being a MASSIVE surgery is just going to result in tighter skin where they had to sew me back together.  It’ll never look pretty.

From my surgery it took another SIX MONTHS for my nerve damage to heal (near my tailbone.)  I am now a YEAR without chronic pain!!!!

So yeah, my body is absolutely night and day better than it was pre surgery and all that time feels like a long ago dream.  The surgery itself and recovery were extremely intense but because I had a horrible daily existence with pain, I’d do the surgery again in a heartbeat.

The women I feel badly for are those who honestly aren’t “that bad”.  This surgery permanently messes you up.  Some days I look pregnant with bloat.  Maybe once a month I have that “WOW, I’m a Barbie doll thin!” in my stomach.  Otherwise it’s somewhere between flatish and slightly poofy.  So if you have a little belly, know that they may remove all that skin but you may still bloat!  I’ll take bloat over the “do I tuck my stomach into my jeans or let it flop OVER the jeans” though.

5 comments

  1. hi. happy holidays! I am 7 months post tummy tuck and I still wear my binder when Im home, my stomach still feels weak when I walk around too much without it. Is this normal you think?

  2. I am going for a consult for tummy tuck this month. I have suffered from Chronic SI pain since my 1 st pregnancy.. i have pain running down both legs as well. i have been asked 6 times since my 3 year old was born when my due date was… i see its been over a year since you blogged but i am sooo curious how your pain is now?

  3. Remember it is crucial you do not gain weight or the tummy tuck procedure will not last long. I know this is a problem with many people, so a healthy lifestyle is in order.

  4. Thanks for this blog… I am 2 wks po and today, swollen. I had a hysterectomy with tummy tuck and lipo.
    Look forward to wearing pants with a button instead of elastic!

Leave a comment